An Abstracted Eclipse

An abstracted view of the total lunar eclipse that occurred earlier this month.

moonrise, Friday evening (07:19 pm, Apr 03 2015)

 

eclipse nearing totality, Saturday morning (05:39 am, Apr 04 2015)

 

eclipse nearing totality, Saturday morning (05:41 am, Apr 04 2015)

 

off tripod and low in the sky, the fully-eclipsed moon setting behind the antenna farm on Cheyenne Mountain (05:58 am, Apr 04 2015)

 

off tripod and low in the sky, the fully-eclipsed moon setting behind the antenna farm on Cheyenne Mountain (05:59 am, Apr 04 2015)

 

out-of-focus view of the antenna farm, after moonset, on Cheyenne Mountain (06:01 am, Apr 04 2015)

 

Locally, there were several places where it was able to be observed with very little obstruction. For us, we have a decent view of the sky for astronomical viewing from the backyard. It is limited, by trees, when looking to the west and southwest. If the subject is low in the western sky, viewing is further restricted by the mountains.

While the line of sight to view the eclipse, or many other astronomical subjects, is much better from the garage roof, climbing a ladder in the dark is not recommended.

 

Note

The final eclipse of this tetrad will occur on September 28, 2015. This graphic by NASA will indicate if the eclipse can be seen from your location.

4 thoughts on “An Abstracted Eclipse

  1. All great shots. I really like the blood moon through the trees. It adds a lot of interest. I have shots similar to your last three from a blood moon a couple years ago. I was still sleepy after dragging myself out of bed at 1:30 am to shoot the moon. Even though I had the camera on a tripod, I forgot to turn off the stabilization on the lens, and I bumped the tripod during one exposer while stumbling around in the dark half asleep.

    1. Thank you. I was glad the eclipse was at a decent hour. I skipped that middle-of-the-night one. Your cats probably wondered what in the world you were doing before continuing their sleep. 🙂

      1. When I get up in the we hours of the morning for eclipses or, more often, to irrigate, the kitties think it’s party time, and often it’s hard to get back to sleep.

        1. The Siamese that I had before my current crew would think 1:30-2:00 am was time for their early breakfast, which I made, of course.

Comments are closed.