September 11th

“Jack, pick up sweetie, can you hear me? Okay. I just want to tell you, there’s a little problem with the plane. I’m fine. I’m totally fine.
I just want to tell you how much I love you.”

– A voice message for her husband by Lauren Grandcolas, one of the passengers on United Flight 93 from Newark to San Francisco –
September 11, 2001

They are words that continue to haunt. On that morning.  These many years later. They conjure of what was lost, of what could have been. It is the type of horror and shock one should not witness or experience. Yet, we do from time to time. While we seek to understand the motivation for such an evil act, seeking to understand it may be a futile task. Evil tries to find an avenue to create despair and fear, anything that can disrupt hope and faith.

Under gray and gloomy skies, a somber mood has been created. However, it also created a time to pause for quiet reflection.

May God bless those who died on a bright, sunny morning twelve years ago and the diplomatic outpost in Benghazi, Libya last year. May God bless America.

2 thoughts on “September 11th

Comments are closed.