On The Road: The “I”

Three weeks ago, Andrea and I traveled to Phoenix for the “Waiting On Heaven” project. A few photos from the trip home …

northbound I-17 from Phoenix to Flagstaff

 

northbound I-17 from Phoenix to Flagstaff

 

Saguaro cactus along I-17

I-17 is considered to be one of the most scenic stretches in the interstate highway system. As such, there are several scenic overlook areas along the highway in which one can view many of the features found in that part of Arizona. Most noticeable, of course, is the change in terrain and weather between Phoenix and Flagstaff.

In Albuquerque, the I-40/I-25 interchange (known as the “Big I”) stands out much in the same way the infamous I-25/I-70 interchange (known as the “Mousetrap”) in Denver stands out. Like any major freeway interchange, you need to be in the proper lane to transition from one freeway to another. Otherwise, you may need to backtrack a few miles for a second try at making the connection.

the “Big I” in Albuquerque where I-40 and I-25 meet

 

northbound I-25 in the Raton Pass area

 

For more information about I-17, its Wikipedia article can be found here.

 

About the photos

Photos were taken using a Blackberry Z10. The I-17 photos were taken by Andrea, while I took the photos of the I-40/I-25 interchange and northbound I-25 in the Raton Pass area.

4 thoughts on “On The Road: The “I”

    1. Thank you. The cactus along the highway is one of those sights you don’t see too often. I’m always pleasantly surprised of how many highways here in the US pass through some very scenic country.

Comments are closed.